UNDP Uzbekistan

Warning! The site has moved to www.uz.undp.org

Schematic Map of Major Environmental Concerns and Donor`s Assistance in Uzbekistan
Energy & Environment
Geographical and climatic features of Uzbekistan in addition to increasing population and economic activities make this country vulnerable to environmental problems, particularly related to damage of the fragile ecosystems and limited access to drinking water resources. The key underlying cause of ecosystem degradation is the conflict between economic development needs and environmental conservation objectives.

UNDP Environment and Energy Unit in close cooperation with international donors community provides assistance to local communities as well as Governmental agencies responsible for natural resources management and environment protection in Uzbekistan to strengthen environmental administration and management by building institutional capacities and promoting effective and sustainable approaches in the conservation of biodiversity, achieving sustainable land management, piloting the renewable energy technologies to increase the awareness of and access to affordable energy services and mitigating the consequences of climate change at policy level and selected local communities.

The assistance provided by UNDP is channeled through the joint projects and programs executed by the respective Governmental agencies collaborating with Environment and Energy Unit. Thus the Unit works closely with Governmental partners to develop national strategies in the areas of waste management, promotion of renewable energy sector, and preparation of plans to improve national capacities for environmental management.

Most of the projects in this area are managed by Environmental Governance Unit, contacts of which are available on the right side of this page. top

Contacts

Mr. Abduvakkos Abdurahmanov
Head of Environment and Energy Unit
abduvakkos.abdurahmanov@undp.org
Extension: 127

Ms. Rano Baykhanova
Climate Change Specialist
rano.baykhanova@undp.org
Extension: 163

Mr. Darkhon Abutalipov
Programme Associate
darkhon.abutalipov@undp.org
Extension: 244

Ms. Guzal Khodjaeva
Programme Associate
guzal.khodjaeva@undp.org
Extension: 150

Ms. Roza Iskhakova
Programme Assistant
roza.iskhakova@undp.org
Extension: 246

Mr. Azamat Tashev
Land & Water Management Specialist
azamat.tashev@undp.org
Extension: 140